## Editorial

## News on Neuropediatrics

Eugen Boltshauser<sup>1</sup> Bernd A. Neubauer<sup>2</sup> Barbara Plecko<sup>3</sup> Graham Brumfield<sup>4</sup>

<sup>1</sup> Department of Neuropediatrics, Prof. Emeritus, University of Zurich,

Zurich, Switzerland

- <sup>2</sup> Department of Neuropediatrics, University of Giessen, Giessen, Germany
- <sup>3</sup>Department of Neuropediatrics, University of Zurich, Zurich,
- Switzerland

<sup>4</sup>Thieme Publishers, Stuttgart, Germany

Neuropediatrics 2014;45:1-2.

## Dear Colleagues, Dear Readers,

We would like to update you about several innovations and changes related to *Neuropediatrics*, which have been effected with the February issue of 2014.

In view of an increasing flow of manuscripts, the page budget of the journal has been increased by more than 10% in 2014, with a further increase planned for 2015. In addition to the increase in pages, and in order to publish more articles, we are encouraging authors to take advantage of the option to incorporate online-only supplementary material (supplementary figures, tables, references) into their papers. The article categories have been further defined, specifying the allowed word count, number of figures/tables, and number of references. Please consult the modified "instructions for authors" on the journal's Web site.

We continue to encourage authors to submit short communications (case reports), provided they add a relevant and novel aspect to our current knowledge. With this issue, we are opening up the journal to publish supplemental video material. Video material will be accepted along with a paper if it adds substantially to the written message and we will be very selective in this respect. For technical details, please consult the "instructions for authors."

We are pleased to report a constant flow of manuscripts, with a rejection rate in 2012 of just under 50%. In order to further accelerate editorial process in 2014, we will be asking

authors to revise and resubmit manuscripts within 6 weeks of the first decision. Fortunately, we have been able to reverse the declining Impact Factor and saw the journal achieve a score of 1.192 in 2013.

The editorial board too has undergone changes this year. We are grateful to those members who have stepped down and we thank them for their academic contribution to the journal. At the same time, we are happy to welcome our new board members who will feature on the masthead of each issue.

The quality of any journal depends largely on the input from its reviewers. We are very grateful to all reviewers who have supported *Neuropediatrics* with their expertise. In an effort to thank all reviewers for their invaluable contribution, we will acknowledge them by publishing their names in the first issue of *Neuropediatrics* each year. For the year 2013, the editors would like to thank the following colleagues (see Thank You, Reviewers!) for their time and expertise in reviewing manuscripts. They not only have enhanced the quality of the content but they also have guided new researchers/authors with their precious advice.

Last but not least, we would like to thank all those who contributed to the successful and timely publication of *Neuropediatrics* in 2013: authors, reviewers, associate editors, and the publishing team. We are grateful to our readers for their interest, and we continue to welcome feedback.

Address for correspondence Prof. Barbara Plecko, MD, University Children's Hospital, Steinwiesstrasse 75, CH-8032 Zurich, Switzerland (e-mail: Barbara.Plecko@kispi. uzh.ch). © 2014 Georg Thieme Verlag KG Stuttgart · New York DOI http://dx.doi.org/ 10.1055/s-0034-1366909. ISSN 0174-304X.

Thank You, Reviewers!		
Tomoyuki Akiyama	Christoph Helmstaedter	Heike Philippi
Filippo Arrigoni	Julia Hennermann	Daniela Pohl
Birgit Assmann	Andrew G. Herzog	Andrea Poretti
Stephane Auvin	Georg F. Hoffmann	Daniela Prayer
Robert Avery	Mitsuaki Hosoya	Susana Quijano-Roy
James Barkovich	Thierry Huisman	Karl Reiter
Thomas Bast	Peter Huppke	Konrad Rejdak
Jan Bauer	Dirk Isbrandt	Harold Rekate
Jules G. Becher	Howard Jacobs	Frederik Romi
Christoph Berger	Andrew James	Andrea Rossi
Roswitha Berger	Mitsuhiro Kato	Kevin Rostásy
Steffen Berweck	Toru Kato	Ruth Ruscheweyh
Roberta Biancheri	Colin Kennedy	Masayuki Sasaki
Michel Billiard	Matthias Kieslich	Ulrike Schara
Eugen Boltshauser	Ryutaro Kira	Marina Schoemaker
Knut Brockmann	Janbernd Kirschner	Sabine Schollürgi
Juergen Brunner	Katrin Klebermass-Schrehof	Peter Schramm
Eva Bueltmann	Andrea Klein	Andreas Schulze-Bonhage
Pippo Capovilla	Joerg Klepper	Juergen Seeger
Anne-Marie Childs	Gerhard Kluger	Alcino Silva
Chao Cho-Ming	Alfried Kohlschütter	Deborah Sival
Hans-Jürgen Christen	Hirohumi Komaki	Franz Staudt
Paul Chumas	Rudolf Korinthenberg	Martin Staudt
Alexander Claviez	Barbara Kornek	Maia Steinlin
Dana Craiu	Ingeborg Kraegeloh-Mann	Volker Straub
Tim de Meij	Günter Krämer	Andreas Straube
Marie-Claire de Wit	Sandro Krieg	lun-ichi Takanashi
Tom deKoning	Gerhard Kurlemann	Marc Tardieu
Matthew Derrick	Ionathan Kurz	Michael Taylor
Olivier Devuyst	Dennis Lal	Carolina Tesi-Rocha
Francis di Mario	Mirjam Landgraf	Kathrin Tintelnot
Doniel Drazin	Ming Lim	Jun Tohyama
Friedrich Ebinger	Doris Lin	Regina Trollmann
Harald Erhardt	Rolf Maier	Eberhard Uhl
Gareth Evans	Mike Maslin	Enza Valente
Martha Feucht	Thomas Mayer	Andreas van Baalen
Dirk Fischer	Eugenio Mercuri	Marjo van der Knaap
Katsunori Fujii	Sascha Meyer	Conny M. A. van Ravenswaaij-Arts
Sabina Gallati	Kenji Mori	Dannis van Vuurden
lutta Gärtner	Wolfgang Mueller-Felber	Adeline Vanderver
Elke Gizewski	David Nadal	Clara Vas Marecos
Sidney Gospe	Toshisaburo Nagai	Hongyan Wang
Michael A. Grotzer	Giancarlo Natalucci	Helene Werner
Laurent Guibaud	Richard Newton	Bernd Wilken
Adam Hartman	Alex R. Paciorkowski	Michél Willemsen
Hans Hartmann	Rainer Pankau	Elaine C. Wirrell
Martin Häusler	lessica Panzer	Nicole Wolf
Matthias Heckmann	Zoltan Patay	Ting Zhang
Florian Heinen	Aurelia Peraud	